Philips Streamium TVs as Twonky clients

all about streamium
tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Philips Streamium TVs as Twonky clients

Postby tobias » Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:56 pm

Hi experts,

is there a specific reason why the Philips Streamium TVs 32, 37 and 42PF9731D and 42PF9831D are not listed as supported media players for Twonky?

Does anyone know if the streamium capabilities of these TVs are comparable (or identical) to the other Philips Streamium devices (e.g., MX6000, SLM5500, SL300i, SL400i)?

Thanks,

Tobias

rubens16
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:08 pm

Philips 42PF9731

Postby rubens16 » Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:55 pm

Hi,

my 42PF9731 arrived for about 2 weeks.

Tests with Twonky V4.3 are not successfull, because the TV does a reboot while browsing through the navigation structure. I tested Twonky on Windows (V4.3, V4.4B3) and on Linux (V4.3).

The same Effect with NERO Media Home.

Tests with Philips Media Manager and Windows Media Connect are ok.

The Function of Twonky V4.3 and Siemens Gigaset M740AV as Client is ok, so I assume my Installation of Twonky is ok.

Does anybody have similar Problems?

Thanks,

Rüdiger

Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Postby Kos » Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:30 am

How sad. I was considering a Philips Streamium TV but without connection to Twonky (on my NAS) is makes no sense. Philips Media Manager is NOT an option.

Kos
Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Postby tobias » Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:41 pm

Kos wrote:How sad. I was considering a Philips Streamium TV but without connection to Twonky (on my NAS) is makes no sense. Philips Media Manager is NOT an option.

Kos


Indeed - very sad.
I bought a 42PF9731D which is really a great TV.

JPG and MP3 are working fine with Twonky 4.3.

Unfortunately I can not manage to get videos to work with Twonky properly. Most DivX and XVid type of files that I have do not play at all (TV says "unknown format"). Philips Media Manager has no problems to play them properly.

My current (ugly) work around is that I have PMM installed on my Windows Laptop and Twonky on my Debian. PMM accesses the Linux server via Samba. With this I can play most of my files (but sadly no HDTV).

What does PMM do different than Twonky? Is it transcoding everything to Mpeg1?

@rubens16: I don't have the rebooting issue - this never happened in my setup. Which firmware version do you use for the TV?

rubens16
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:08 pm

Postby rubens16 » Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:22 pm

Hi Tobias,

my Firmware is 0.89.0.0, so I assume this is the newest. I did no Upgrade yet.

I received two answers of Philips Customer Care, they say the 42PF9731 ist only compatible to PMM and on the other Hand they say its compatible to other Software. Very confusing.

No answer about the rebooting-issue.

Rüdiger

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Postby tobias » Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:58 pm

Hi Rüdiger,

in this thread http://www.twonkyvision.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3141
somebody recommended to set the client/security setting to "Philips MCW770" when connecting a Philips Streamium TV as client. I just tried it and guess what: The TV rebooted after 1 min MP3 play. I immediately reset the setting to "Philips Streamium AV" and did not face this issue again so far (knock on wood). What is your setting here?

By the way: With MCW770 only music streaming is supported.

Best regards,

Tobias

rubens16
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:08 pm

Postby rubens16 » Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:29 pm

Hi Tobias,

this was the Tip I was waiting for. :D

I used the automatic default settings "Generic Media Player".

My first Test with pictures of my digicam works fine.

I will test MP3 and vidoeo, if I manage to get my Server working. (Hardware-Problem)

Thanks

Rüdiger

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Postby tobias » Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:56 pm

Hi there,

a different issue with the same setup.

Does anyone know if it is possible to access the TVs screen format settings (Superzoom, 16:9, widescreen, ...) when playing streamed videos? To me it looks as it would not be possible.
I have issues here when playing 21:9 Cinemascope-format avi-files (~640x270 pixel). The Philips TV always stretches them to fullscreen which looks really bad. 16:9 works fine.

Is there a way to change screen format settings in Twonky?
Is there a way to change screen format in Philips PF9731 when using streamed video?

Thanks,

Tobias

gigirex
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:04 am
AV Hardware: Philips TV, PS3, PC all ethernet connected

Resolutions Supported by Full HD LCD TV from Network or USB

Postby gigirex » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:51 am

Tobias, (and for all of you want that want to know what resolutions are supported by your full definition LCD TV)

This is the official response from Philips:

"The maximum resolution supported from network or USB devices is:
D1 - 720x576 (PAL) - 720x480 (NTSC) "

Did you know if it is possible to configure Twonky for this maximum resolution? In particular, I'm thinking at JPEG pictures...

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:57 pm

Kos wrote:How sad. I was considering a Philips Streamium TV but without connection to Twonky (on my NAS) is makes no sense. Philips Media Manager is NOT an option.

Kos


Indeed - I have just got hold of a LaCie Ethernet Big Disk NAS, which is bundled with Twonky, but it crashes my TV every time I browse the content structure even before trying to display any content. Anyone else got this kit and got it working with a Streamium TV?

Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Postby Kos » Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:33 am

It's very confusing. The streamium tv's from Philips are UPnP (right?) and still Twonky don't work on them. I don't get it...

Kos
Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:46 am

You'd think so for sure - the Philips Streamium TVs are UPnP and I have successfully used mine with other servers (e.g. TVersity as well as the bundled Philips Media Manager which I think is based on SimpleCenter).

So last night I upgraded the firmware on my 37PF9731D/10 to the most recent version (0.89) on the basis of "Improved Connected Planet behaviour". I thought that was going to fix it, but no - the situation is still exactly the same. I have set up the media server on my (Twonky-based) NAS to serve up only a share containing a single mp3 file (I was worried about the volume of files somehow causing the problem). Browsing the content structure anywhere where that file would be listed just causes the TV to freeze and then reboot after about 10 seconds.

It's an enormous pity because the combination of this Twonky NAS and the Philips TV should be to die for!

Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Postby Kos » Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:28 pm

Exactly - I would love that combination having a Twonky NAS myself.

I e-mailed Christian (Twonky) about this issue and he believes the Philips TV UPnP are not a perfect UPnP and therefore causes problems...

Kos
Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:33 am

Kos wrote:Exactly - I would love that combination having a Twonky NAS myself.

I e-mailed Christian (Twonky) about this issue and he believes the Philips TV UPnP are not a perfect UPnP and therefore causes problems...

Kos


"Well he would say that, wouldn't he?" ;-) ;-) ;-)

I'm currently trying to capture a comparative network trace showing the difference between Twonky serving up a one-file content tree to this device and Philips Media Manager doing the same. That should shed some light on why one works and the other doesn't. The fault may well be at the Philips end, but it's in everyone's interests (OK, especially mine :-) ) to get this fixed so I reckon Twonky might have a look at it...

rubens16
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:08 pm

Postby rubens16 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:06 pm

Hi,

@Kos
@ConnorMC

have a Look at the tip Tobias give to me.

you have to configure under Clients/security "Philips Streamium AV" and not the default "Generic Media Server".

This solved my Problem.

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:59 pm

Great news!

I did the network trace thing and sent the details off to Twonky. There is no doubt that the Philips TV does not play ball very nicely - for instance its DeviceDescription.xml file contains NO information that allows the device or even manufacturer to be identified, despite there being XML tags in the structure for exactly that purpose. Those tags are there, but they're empty.

Anyway, I found the Twonky support people (or the person I was talking to, who I'll leave anonymous but you know who you are!) VERY helpful and responsive, which I was a little surprised about given that I'm not a direct client of Twonky, having got the server in a LaCie device. We knocked back and forward bits of data etc until today, when I was invited to download the new version of Twonky, version 4.4.1 and try it out. And it works! No tweaks, no fixed IP addresses or manual device identification - Twonky and the Philips 37PF9731D/10 are now playing together very nicely indeed!

So many thanks to Twonky - now I just need to persuade LaCie to roll this change into their firmware...

Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Postby Kos » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:22 am

Great news with 4.4.1.

But is it music or both music and movies you can stream to the Philips tv now?

Kos
Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:36 am

Kos wrote:Great news with 4.4.1.

But is it music or both music and movies you can stream to the Philips tv now?

Kos


I tested music, movies and photos last night. All worked fine except that the server is currently scaling down the photos so they fill a bit under half the screen. I've fed back that this scaling is unnecessary (since the TV can handle images from media cards and will scale them itself), but compared to the fact that the server/TV combo now actually works I think it's a pretty small issue :-).

Bontronicz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:27 pm

Postby Bontronicz » Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:32 pm

TwonkyMedia 4.4.1 (on Fritz!Box 7170) worked fine for pictures and music on my 37PF9731 until I upgraded the TV's firmware to the latest version 96 last week. Now music still runs fine, but pictures are not recognized anymore. Any suggestions (apart from downgrading the software)?

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

New firmware

Postby ConorMc » Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:36 pm

Bontronicz wrote:TwonkyMedia 4.4.1 (on Fritz!Box 7170) worked fine for pictures and music on my 37PF9731 until I upgraded the TV's firmware to the latest version 96 last week. Now music still runs fine, but pictures are not recognized anymore. Any suggestions (apart from downgrading the software)?


What error messages are you getting from the TV when the images fail to load? Have you found any release notes for this firmware upgrade? I've had a look on the Philips site but I can't find anything that actually tells me what has changed - I'm still on 89 at the moment. I wonder if Philips has fixed the crash condition with earlier versions of Twonky...

Bontronicz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:27 pm

Postby Bontronicz » Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:52 pm

No error messages at all. It's just that no pictures show up in the list (although there are 281 in the directory). Philips has not provided a release note yet - that's why I handed the same problem to the Philips helpdesk. Let's see what (&when...) their response will be.

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Postby ConorMc » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:13 am

Bontronicz wrote:No error messages at all. It's just that no pictures show up in the list (although there are 281 in the directory). Philips has not provided a release note yet - that's why I handed the same problem to the Philips helpdesk. Let's see what (&when...) their response will be.


Don't tell me - you got this standard message:

PhillipsHelpdesk wrote:Thank you for your enquiry, which has been forwarded to the department that
deals with your specific question within the Philips Organisation.

Please be assured you will receive an answer to your request from that
department shortly.


I got mine on August 8th. No reply as yet; in the meantime I've exchanged about 20 emails with Twonky who fixed the problem, despite Philips almost certainly being the cause :-)

Bontronicz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:27 pm

Postby Bontronicz » Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:10 am

No. In their home country they're a bit more responsive :wink:. I received:

We hebben uw vraag ontvangen en u krijgt binnen vier werkdagen een antwoord van ons.


Loosely translated: I will get a response this week.

HerbyA
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:30 am
Location: Germany

Philips TV reboot

Postby HerbyA » Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:09 pm

I have also a reboot. Where do I get the 4.41. software?

ConorMc
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:50 pm

Re: Philips TV reboot

Postby ConorMc » Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:50 pm

HerbyA wrote:I have also a reboot. Where do I get the 4.41. software?


I think from the standard download page:

http://www.twonkyvision.de/Download/Two ... index.html

I know it says 4.4 but if you download it the installer says it is 4.4B1 or something.

castroberlin
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:01 am

Postby castroberlin » Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:57 pm

is it true that they didn't change the version for raidsonic nas 2000.

because i would love to see this nas server working with my philips 42pf9831

if i try to connect now, the tv shuts off and on again, very scary

Castro

Bontronicz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:27 pm

Postby Bontronicz » Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:15 am

TwonkyMedia 4.4.1 (on Fritz!Box 7170) worked fine for pictures and music on my 37PF9731 until I upgraded the TV's firmware to the latest version 96 last week. Now music still runs fine, but pictures are not recognized anymore. Any suggestions (apart from downgrading the software)?


No answer from Philips yet, but the problem is solved. I played around with Twonky yesterday (switched on/off transcoding), caused a Twonky (and possibly 7170) restart and all of a sudden pictures worked fine again. Case closed.

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Philips Streamium TVs as Twonky clients

Postby tobias » Thu May 15, 2008 10:05 am

Hello all,
is there anybody who made VLC streaming to a streamium TV working with Twonky 4.4.4? I constantly fail.

I would like to display for example a live TV stream as described here:
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3236&p=13661&hilit=vlc.import#p13661
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3952&p=14337&hilit=vlc.import#p14337

I manged to set up VLC on my server and connect it to my TV tuner card. I am able to stream picture and sound to anoher PC/laptop in the network.
It also worked to use the vlc.import.playlists to generate the stream entry in the video tree. I can see the entry from my 42PF9731D.
But when I try to start it I always get the message "unknown format" or something similar.
I have the feeling that this is related to MIME types but I might be wrong.

Another use case that I would like to implement is WLAN streaming of my laptop's deskop to my TV via Twonky using VLC - similar as it is described here (works fine for laptop->PC):
http://ifoundthesolution.blogspot.com/2008/02/screencasting-using-vlc.html

Both scenarios should be easily possible and I only have Twonly as the roadblock.

I would really like to see this working. Any ideas or experiences here?

Best regards,
Tobias

HerbyA
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:30 am
Location: Germany

Philips Streamium TVs as Twonky clients and DIVX

Postby HerbyA » Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:49 am

DIVX files do not play on the Philips TVs. But with the latest upgrade of DIVX to 6.8 I managed to play DIVX files. The old ones do not play still. (Twonky 4.4)


Return to “Philips devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron