PS3 not recognising Media Server

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
pegasus49
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:43 pm
AV Hardware: TS210 with a PS3

PS3 not recognising Media Server

Postby pegasus49 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:45 pm

Realise it's an old topic but my PS3 is unable to locate the Twonky Media Server on my QNAP NAS.

Wonder if anyone has figured out the issue.

All units have the latest firmware updates.

My initial findings seem contradictory....


My home configuration is a Thomson Speedtouch 780 WL router connected via ethernet cable to a NAS and a Windows 7 PC.

My PS3 has access via WiFi and has no issues connecting to the internet.

The PS3 can see the log in page of the router ( 192.168.1.254)


The PS3 can identify the Windows 7 PC Media Server but cannot locate the Twonky Server 5.1.6 software within the NAS unit. UPnp server is enabled on the router.

Additionally, the PS3 cannot see the log in page of the Twonky server (192.168.1.66:9000) which maybe indicates a router issue? Port 9000 has been forwarded. ( If I use a lap top on Wi-Fi, I can see the Twonky log in page??)


Under the Maintenace page, under Media Receivers I notice the Twonky Software has identified the PS3 with correct MAC and IP address.

( Given that it maybe a router issue and in need of replacement, does anyone have a recomended router that can interface between a NAS and PS3 with no issues? )

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: PS3 not recognising Media Server

Postby Twonky_Rick » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:23 am

We've used the Linksys routers with the PS3 without problem (e.g. the E4200 as well as the older Linksys WRT600N or WRT610N). I'm sure others here will have recommendations as well.

There are also some suggestions in the Best Practices document which may help you. viewtopic.php?f=24&t=6124

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: PS3 not recognising Media Server

Postby PeeBee » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:17 pm

Even though you say the PS3 is listed corectly on the Media Receivers page try clicking Reset List and restarting the server.

PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)


Return to “PS3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest